Back to All Events

ITTS Inaugural Conference

  • University Clinic of Dentistry Vienna Sensengasse 2a Vienna Austria (map)

Inaugural Conference of the International Transmembrane
Transporter Society:

“The Transporter Transition”


Scientific Program out now!!


Registration is now open until June 29, 2018


Update 4: We are delighted to announce that ISN is providing $ 12,000 to support our early career investigators. We are pleased to be able to allocate this sum to our young scientists: if selected for a short oral presentation, 12 in total will receive considerable support for travel and accommodation to attend the conference and named as “Young ISN Neurochemistry Awardees”.

In July 2018, we will send an info mail to all participants regarding their acceptance status of poster or short talk application.


Acknowledgements of Funding:



News Archive:

Outcome of the ITTS call for session proposals

Many individual points such as gender-balance, balance of junior/senior speakers, geographical distribution and scientific excellence of the proposals were taken into account. We believe that the Inaugural ITTS Conference offers a programme of highest scientific originality with a balance spread over the different themes to be covered within the society itself.

Update 1: We plan to support young investigators (i.e., PhD-students, postdoctoral fellows up to 5 years after obtaining PhD) by issuing grants to support their attendance. The amount of the grant cannot be set at this early stage as we will be applying for grants in the near future.

Update 2: The registration fee of all members of ITTS participating in the conference either as chair person or speaker in any session will be waived.

Call for Session Proposals

We are seeking novel and exciting proposals from investigators with a research focus on any aspect of transmembrane transporters. Individual proposals that are integrative and inclusive of multiple disciplines (e.g. molecular pharmacology, neurochemistry, animal behavior and clinical studies) are desirable. Proposals that are balanced both with respect to gender, seniority (a mix of junior and Senior faculty) and geographic location (i.e. not all speakers coming from the same institution) are strongly encouraged. Please note that both the balance (diversity of speakers) and scientific excellence of the proposal will be considered key criterion in the final selection process.

Update 3: The deadline for symposium proposal submission is Tuesday, January 16th, 2018.

Successful applicants will be notified in early February, 2018.
Symposia selected for the program will be allotted ~100 minutes and should be composed of no more than four speakers (~25 minutes/talk inclusive of questions). All conference participants will be responsible for their own travel and lodging expenses. Reduced registration fees will apply to ITTS members (regular annual Membership: US$ 50, biennial Membership: US$ 90; biennial Membership for student members & Emeritus Faculty members: US$ 40).

For consideration, please submit your proposal (in Word format) to with the following information (proposals not in this format will be returned):

  1. Symposium Title
  2. Brief description of subject area and the topics of each speaker (~250 words)
  3. Name of Chair (and co-Chair, if applicable), email and affiliation. The Chair or Co-Chair must be an ITTS member.
  4. Name, email, affiliation and tentative talk title for each speaker; verification of participation is required and an individual may speak in only one symposium.

Oral session(s) dedicated to young investigators (i.e. students, post-docs) will be included in the program.

Send proposals to no later than midnight (your local time) Tuesday, January 16, 2018.

Further conference details will be posted on the ITTS website as they become available. ITTS members will be notified by email when updates are made.


It is with great excitement that we announce the first, ITTS biennial conference, which is partially supported by SFB35. With the highly successful series of ten “SFB35: Transmembrane Transporters in Health and Disease”, now at an end, nothing seems more fitting than for ITTS to fill the void created with “its” own conference. To this end, the ITTS executive committee is in the thick of organizing the inaugural ITTS conference to be held in Vienna, September 18-21, 2018. In the tradition of SFB35, and under the experienced oversight of SFB35 organizer, and President of ITTS, Harald Sitte will lead the organizing committee, which comprises the ITTS executive committee and council, as well as local Viennese transportologists.

The conference format will comprise symposia, inclusive of all areas of transmembrane transporter research, a special session to highlight and promote talks given by young investigators, poster sessions, opening and closing plenary lectures, as well as social events including opening and closing dinner receptions.

  • The long-term goal is the establishment of a highly successful conference platform, occurring on a biennial basis, which promotes and emphasizes young transporter investigators, as well as the inclusion of women and minorities. A business meeting will be held at each conference, where the members will determine the venue for the subsequent ITTS meeting, and a chair for the local organizing committee will be identified. The intention is for the venue to shift to a new location across the globe each time, attract a wide audience, and provide a different ambiance each time.